Fashionowy

Black To Basics

Posted on: August 26, 2006

My love for Forever 21 is still pretty strong. Although the only store here offers a rather limited range of tops, the online shop is much better. Lately, I have an affinity for simple and feminine tops in black. I figure they’re good for those dinner outings with the girls instead of my usual t-shirt and jeans combo. πŸ˜‰ Here are a few I’ve scoured, together with SW.

I got this top in my mail a few days back. I really love it! The neckline is a tad wider than my usual crewneck t-shirts but hey, I really love it! Paired with my tight Levi’s and possibly one of my unworn flats, I’m good to go! πŸ˜€

This really womanly top caught SW’s eye last night. After much debating (I said it looked a tad too womanly but she said it’d be a good investment that way), she finally bought the top. On hindsight, it’s a rather lovely sophisticated flutter-top. I love how the waistband will bring a curvier shape to my SW. πŸ˜‰

And amidst our plans to stay up to catch up on schoolwork, both SW and I fell to temptation and bought this top each! (Oh, we always end up buying the same stuffs, hehe.) We really love how the ruched bustline makes this shirt outstanding. And I suppose empire-cut tops are always good for those heavy dinners! πŸ˜‰

This retro tunic t-shirt is another winner. It’s casual chic when worn with a low-slung belt and jeans.

Personally, I would have bought this top if the colour wasn’t so drabby. The ruched bustline and tiny buttons, coupled with the puffed sleeves makes this so adorable. If only they had it in a livelier colour.

This satin polka-dotted shirt would have been mine, if only I was already working. πŸ˜‰ It looks more office-wear to me than dinner with the girls. But SW said it looks like those satin PJs she used to wear. Haha.

For something more college-wear, then I guess this stripey short-sleeved shirt will do better. Notice how the sleeves are abit puffy. πŸ™‚ But the thing about buying shirts online is we won’t know if they’ll be of a right fit. I prefer trying them on myself to see if they fit me nicely. Anyway we all know that shirts must be fitted no matter plain or patterned.

-SB-

2 Responses to "Black To Basics"

I LOVE the tops with the princess-y puffed sleeves. Too bad I don’t wear them cos I can’t.. But I MAY just decide to go topless (as in on the head) once in a blue moon.. Hahah..

Pair the black ones with contrasting long white-pearl necklace! And don one of those Pucci scarves a la LC.. U’d look as sweet as pie, SB! =)

Oops! I meant Pucci-like scarves..

Leave a Reply

